Wicklow Garda Youth Awards

The inaugural Wicklow Garda Youth Awards took place in The Park Hotel, Newtownmountkennedy on Saturday, 9th January. Despite the dreadful weather all recipients and Gardaí managed to cross “The Gap” from the west!

Community groups, clubs and schools were invited to nominate young people who stand out and there were three categories for prizes. Congratulations to An Garda Síochána for taking this initiative. Chief Superintendent, Pat Mangan, complimented all involved and in particular commended, Garda Emma Skinner, JLO in the Bray area for organising the event.

The compere for the evening, Declan Meehan, East Coast Radio, put all award recipients through their paces and added a great sense of camaraderie to the occasion.

The award categories were as follows:

  • Individual Awards
  • Group Awards
  • Special Achievement Awards

Coláiste Bhríde was proud to have two award winners.

Our individual award winner, Aimee Walshe, 6th year student, has demonstrated a true sense of volunteerism, commitment and initiative since she started in first year. Her commitment to school events, tuck shop, senior prefect, Meitheal leader and school musical choreographer only touch the tip of the ice-berg for this young lady.

Harry Winterbotham 5th year, received a special achievement award for his bravery against the odds. Since a young child he has battled with numerous serious operations and now he makes every effort to “take life as it is” on a day to day basis. Despite his impaired vision he remains positive and active. His real love is horses and he told Declan, that he “made a few bob over Christmas!”

Below are the list of award recipients:

Individual Awards:

  • Kyle Murray, Kilcoole.
  • Delmara Tomkinshna, Bray
  • Jamie Fitzpatrick , Bray
  • Aimee Walsh- Coláiste Bhríde Carnew
  • Rhys Kelly, Wicklow
  • Aoibhean Redmond, Arklow
  • Joanne Grattan, Dunlavin
  • Leanne Kennedy, Greystones
  • Amy Irwin, Rathnew


Group Awards:

  • Coláiste Craobh Abhann – set up a pop up shop in Kilcoole
  • Arklow Youth Mental Committee
  • Greystones Summer Project
  • Bray’s Open Door


Special Achievement Awards:

  • Harry Winterbotham, Colaiste Bhríde Carnew
  • Nicole O’Donovan, Red Cross
  • Eoin Gregory, Rathnew
  • Matthew Davis, Newtownmountkennedy
  • Conor (passed away suddenly from an asthma attack in August) and his sister, Clare Early, Blessington


It was a very special occasion for so many people in Wicklow and for us as a school. It was a pleasure to attend with our two award recipients and the Walsh and Winterbotham families. Sincere thanks to Sinead also for attending. Unfortunately Erin was unable to attend.